Estt. 1916

Vishwavidyanilaya Karyasoudha, Crawford Hall, Post Box No. 406, Mysuru-570 005.

Sub: Institutional Human Ethical Committee re-constitution – reg.

Ref: 1) Letter No. MGFSN/01/IHEC-UOM/2022-23, Dt. 8.4.2022 received from the Member Secretary, IHEC, University of Mysore, Mysuru.

2) Orders of the Hon'ble Vice-Chancellor dated 18.5.2022.

## ORDER NO. DV6/334/Ethical Committee/2004-05, DATED 23.5.2022.

Pursuant to the approval of the Hon ble Vice-Chancellor, University of Mysore, Mysuru, the Institutional Human Ethical Committee (IHEC) consisting of the following \* members under the Chairmanship of Dr. Mewa Singh is reconstituted in the University of Mysore, for a period of three years or until further orders whichever is earlier, to carry out the work as enumerated in the ICMR Guidelines.

SI. No.	Name of the Member	Designation
1	Dr. Mewa Singh	Chairman
	Distinguished Professor (for Life) and SERB	
	Distinguished Fellow, Institution of Excellence,	,
	University of Mysore, Mysuru	
2	Prof. S.R. Ramesh	Biomedical Scientist
	Chief Scientist, Department of Life Science,	
	Pooja Bhagavath Memorial First Grade Centre,	
	KRS Road, Mysuru – 570 016	
3	Dr. Shyam Sunder	Medical Doctor
	Professor and Head,	
	Department of Anatomy,	
	JSS Medical College, Mysuru	
4	Dr. Basavaraju M.S.	Medical Doctor
	Chief Medical Officer,	
	University Health Centre,	
$\overline{}$	University of Mysore, Mysuru	
5	Dr. Shanthi G	Social Scientist and
	Samruddhi Foundation, No. 2907, 3 <sup>rd</sup> Main,	representative of NGO
	V.V. Mohalla, Mysuru -570 006.	
6	Mrs. Sindhu Suresh	Legal Expert
	No. 349, Madhu, Kamakshi Hospital Road,	
	Mysuru – 570 009.	



Estt. 1916

Vishwavidyanilaya Karyasoudina, Crawford Hall, Post Box No. 406, Mysuru-570 005.

7	Dr. N.B. Ramachandra UGC-BSR Faculty, Department of Genetics and Genomics, University of Mysore, Mysuru	Biologist (Geneticist) Nutritionist
8	Dr. Asha Martin Principal Scientist, AQCL, CFTRI, Mysuru	Biomedical Scientist
9	Dr. Ramachandra Kini Professor, DoS in Biotechnology, University of Mysore, Mysuru.	Nutritionist
10	Dr. Asna Urooj Professor, DoS in Food Science and Nutrition, University of Mysore, Mysuru	Member Secretary

#### To:

- 1. The Concerned Members.
- 2. The Chairman, DoS in Food Science and Nutrition, Manasagangotri, Mysuru.
- 3. The Finance Officer, University of Mysore, Mysuru.
- 4. The PA to the Hon'ble Vice-Chancellor/Registrar/Finance Officer, UoM, Mysuru.
- 5. Schedule file.

# Proceedings of the Institutional Human Ethics Committee meetings held on 11<sup>th</sup> and 22<sup>nd</sup> February 2022 at DOS in Food Science & Nutrition, Manasagangotri, Mysuru.

#### Members present

Prof. Mewa Singh - Chairman

Prof Cletus D'Souza - Member

Prof. U.V. Mani - Member

Prof S.R.Ramesh - Member

Dr. ShyamSundar - Member

Dr Basavaraj M.S - Member

Dr. Shanthi. G - Member

Mrs. Sindhu Suresh - Member

Dr. Asna Urooj - Member Secretary

\_\_\_\_\_

#### **Agenda**

1. Inclusion of new members

- 2. Changes of member's designation according to the ICMR guidelines
- 3. Revision of sitting fee and other expenses

\_\_\_\_\_

The Chairman and Member secretary welcomed the committee members.

Chairman

The committee scrutinized the proposals osubmitted by PhD and PG students for ethical clearance.

Prof. Cletus D'Souza and Prof. U.V. Mani expressed inability to continue as IHEC members

The committee proposed Dr. Ramesh, Professor, DOS in Law, Mysuru, as a legal expert in place of Prof. K.P.Suresh, as he has not attended a single meeting till date. The committee agreed to the proposal of Dr Asna Urooj to include Dr Ramachandra N.B as a member due to his expertise in Genetics.

The Member Secretary informed the committee that the proposed new members have consented to be the members of the IHEC committee.

### following are the new members

- 1. Dr. Ramachandra Kini, Professor, Department of Biotechnology, University of Mysuru.
- 2. Dr. Asha Martin, Principal Scientist, AQCL, CFTRI, Mysuru.
- 3. Dr. N.B. Ramachandra, UGC BSR Faculty, DOS in Genetics and Genomics, UOM
- 4. Dr Ramesh, Professor, DOS in Law, UOM

The Chairman thanked the outgoing members and presented a token of appreciation to Prof. Cletus D'Souza and Prof. U.V. Mani, for their valuable services provided during their tenure.

The Committee also deliberated the revision of sitting fee and other expenses of the IHEC w.e.f 2022-23. Accordingly, it was decided to propose Rs.1,500/- as sitting fees and Rs.100/- per person for refreshments, Local Conveyance as applicable to the external members, Secretarial assistance and stationary items Rs. 2,000/- per meeting. The Member secretary was authorized to communicate to the University for the implementation.

Dr Asna Urooj proposed to organize a workshop on 'Clinical research methods' in 2022-23, which was accepted by all members. It was decided to approach University/ICMR for funding.

Dr. Asna Urooj informed the committee that it is high time that UOM-IHEC has to be registered with Department of Health Research (DHR), Govt. of India, New Delhi. The Chairman informed all members to send their CV in the prescribed format and approach the University for the same.

The meeting ended with a vote of thanks by the Member Secretary.

Chairman

Chairman

Human Ethic. 'Committee University of Mysore MYSORE-570 006